Medicare Parts

Get A Free Quote Today!

A Comprehensive Guide to Medicare Parts A, B, C, and D

For seniors over 65 years of age, understanding the different parts of Medicare can be an overwhelming task. To help make things easier to understand, here is a comprehensive guide to Medicare Parts A, B, C, and D.

Part A:

Part A is commonly known as hospital insurance. This part covers inpatient care in hospitals or skilled nursing facilities (not long-term care). It also covers home health services and hospice care.

Part B:

Part B is commonly referred to as medical insurance. This part covers doctors’ services, preventive services like flu shots and other vaccines, outpatient care, durable medical equipment like walkers and wheelchairs and more.

Part C:

Part C is also known as Medicare Advantage plans and these plans are offered by private companies that contract with the government to provide all of your Part A and Part B benefits (and usually some additional benefits) through their network of providers. Many of these plans offer prescription drug coverage as well.

Part D:

Part D is the prescription drug benefit offered by private companies that contract with the government to provide this coverage for you through their network of pharmacies. It helps cover the cost of both brand-name and generic drugs that are prescribed by your doctor or other health care provider.

With this guide in mind, you should now have a better understanding of the four different parts of Medicare for seniors over 65 years old – Parts A, B, C, and D – so that you can make an informed decision about which type of coverage best suits you or your loved one’s needs. Remember to always consult with a healthcare professional if you have any questions or need further clarification on any part of Medicare before making a decision! Happy reading!

Common Questions about the Parts of Medicare (A,B,C,D)